Serene Sunday

Ok, it’s been a LOOOOOOONG time since a blog post! My new years’ resolution was to start blogging and stick with it, and I only managed 50% of that! Well, I’m back and committed and certainly have the time to do so now. Plus, I want to have this thing up and running by the time Jacob leaves for Guatemala in April so we’ll have another means of continuing to be involved in each others’ lives. Even if all that means is that he sees pictures of my food 🙂

I was up late last night at a girls’ night at Tyler’s and meeting Jacob and his friends for a drink after, so I slept in way late this morning – 10:30am! Even so, I woke up tired – I haven’t been sleeping all that well for the last week or so. I think I have pent up energy that isn’t being expended at work like it used to be – I haven’t totally adjusted to not being on overdrive yet. I hope my system regulates soon…. my plan is to force myself to get up at a normal hour (like pre-9am) this week and see if that gets me on the normal schedule again.

Anyway, a sleepy, lazy morning called for a good breakfast. I toasted 2 Trader Joe’s frozen blueberry waffles and topped them with a handful of fresh blueberries, a couple spoonfuls of plain Greek yogurt, and a drizzle of maple syrup. The coffee was obviously on constant refill as well.

Yummmmm.

After breakfast, we had to go into Portland to pick up Jacob’s stepmom and sister because their car had been towed while they were at church! Terry, Jacob’s dad, had taken a cab to the impound lot, but we needed to pick up Kathy and Meghan to bring them home. Their ordeal had made them grumpy, so as I do when I’m in a bad mood, they gravitated towards cheese and carbs and made quesadillas.

I wanted something slightly more nutritionally sound, so I improved and made half a grilled cheese sandwich with one slice of Ezekiel bread, Grey Poupon mustard spread on both sides, and Tillamook cheddar. I also had a bowl of Imagine tomato soup and some snap peas for color.

The rest of our afternoon was spent running errands – getting J’s iPod fixed and going to Costco. We managed to get in and out of Costco in 20 mins – definitely a record. We only spent $36.81 as well – also a record! – since we just got a tub of hummus, Food Should Taste Good sweet potato chips, a case of Chobani, and Fage Greek Yogurt for us, plus a liter of wine for Jacob’s dad.

Dinner came together in approx 6 minutes – just how I like it 🙂 I wilted a couple of handfuls of spinach in the microwave, topped it with a cup of leftover heated up brown rice and the other half of a bag of Trader Joe’s cumin and spiced chickpeas (such a good find!). I also steamed some broccoli to go on top and finished it all over with some feta.

It was great! So much for cutting the fiber in my diet down though… I realized lately I’ve been getting TOO much fiber, which is causing me some tummy troubles.

As for the rest of my night… I’m having an internal dialogue with myself about whether to go to the gym tonight or not. The ‘responsible’ side of me says, GO! Yes, you ran 10 mi on Thursday and 14 hilly miles yesterday, but Friday’s workout was just incline walking on the treadmill… but the ‘tired, lazy’ side of myself says that I don’t feel like changing, going all the way there, and taking another shower tonight.

I think I’m listening to the lazy side and instead will finish “Among Schoolchildren” by Tracy Kidder and eat some ice cream 🙂 I’m planning on hot yoga and a six mile run tomorrow so if I skip today, whatev. Silly how I think I need to rationalize these things!

How do you talk yourself into (or out of) going to the gym when you’re not feeling like it?

Leave a Reply

