Out of Alignment

Today was one of those days. I don’t want to go so far as to call it a “no good, very bad” day, but everything I did had that distinct feeling of just ick.

I think whenever you’re trying to change something in your life, you have the best chance of success if you start by setting one easily attainable goal. Start off on the right foot, right? So my goal for getting myself on a better sleeping schedule, where I fall asleep before 2am, was to get up around 8 today. When the alarm beeped, I thought I hit snooze but instead turned off my alarm – and slept until 9:30. Nice to sleep in, not so nice for my goal of making a 9am yoga class and resetting my internal clock.

Thus, my yucky Monday began. Breakfast, however, was a definite bright spot. One plus of not having anywhere to rush off to in the morning is the luxury of time to make a real breakfast, something I never managed while working 50 hours a week with a 30 – 45 min commute each way. I whipped up a pot of oats – always a go-to when I want something warm and comforting. I cooked 1/3 c oats and 1/2 a chopped pear in in 2/3 c water, a splash of vanilla, and pinches each of nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt. I topped it all with a spoonful of Adam’s Crunchy PB and some pecan granola. Side dishes were coffee, per usual, and a replay of Thursday’s Colbert Report.

I did manage to make it to a noon yoga class at Yoga NW, where I had a Living Social coupon to cash in. $10 for a month of unlimited yoga? Count me in. However, I just wasn’t into it. I had been looking forward to a sweaty, leave it all on the table type class – and instead, we sat on the mat focusing on our awareness for almost 10 minutes. My back hurt, my contacts were getting dry with my eyes closed, and my nose was itching with allergies. I ended up enjoying myself later on, but the start ruined my mood and made me frustrated.

Lunch was another bright spot, though. Sensing a theme? 🙂 I had time to kill between yoga and an appt in Portland so I went to my favorite coffee shop, Crema. They have the most amazing, well, everything, but today I had a particularly tasty sup – Mulligatawny with Lamb. OMG, so good. I had an ENORMOUS kalamata ciabatta roll slathered in butter (the antidote to a crappy day, obviously).

It was a beautiful day in Portland – one of those crisp, sunny, not quite chilly, not quite warm NW winter days. It was a perfect day for a run, but as with yoga, things were off. About a mile in, my lunch started jostling around in my tummy and was verrrryyyy uncomfortable. I planned to do 2 loops of the waterfront but after a few miles of burps that tasted like lamb (sorry, TMI), I called it quits. I still managed 4.3 mi in about 34 mins (7:50 avg pace) but I again was frustrated.

Finally, I spent 2 hours at Target and Walgreens trying to get a prescription filled. My insurance through my job ended on Feb 28th but my new insurance (through my parents) started on March 1st. You’d think it would be easy to transfer prescriptions but it’s really (really, really) not. I still have to go back at 8pm tonight to Walgreens to FINALLY pick up my prescription. ARRRRRRG.

Since I was at Target for a total of an hour and a half during this ordeal, of course I was going to make some sort of impulse buy. Today’s was Sunmaid Vanilla Yogurt Raisins, one of those foods that sounds innocuous and healthy but really isn’t. I still pretend they are though. I mean, really, yogurt? Raisins? How bad can they be?? Whatev. So I had a handful for a snack in the car on the way to Walgreens, plus an unpictured apple.

Today might have been total crap, but at least my food was good. Hallelujah to that. Sometimes that is all we can ask, no?

It might be a two glass of wine with dinner type of night 🙂 Ciao!

Leave a Reply

