Full House, Full Stomach

It’s a rare Monday that I bounce out of bed, ready to tackle the day! Actually, right now it’s hard to discern Monday from Friday, but you know how some days just have that certain day feeling, even when you’re on vacation? I’m not a churchgoer, but Sunday just always feels like Sunday – not sure why! Ok, enough with the tangent.

My breakfast definitely deserves some credit for my productivity today. I jazzed up my usual pumpkin-banana-PB oats with a dollop of vanilla pear butter, which spread out over the top of my hot oats in a delicious puddle. I got a taste of PB and pear butter in almost every bite, and it was goooooooood 🙂

After making all the calls I needed to to inform school board candidates that they either had or had not been endorsed (loads of fun, as you can imagine), I headed to the gym for a long-missed class: spinning!! I used to go to spinning at least once or twice a week, and I have gotten away from that during the past year of back to back marathon training cycles. Fun fact: When I first moved to Portland in 2008, I used to go to the 7pm spin class at 24 Hour Fitness in Hollywood religiously on Tuesday and Thursday. It turns out that Jacob did as well! I always sat in the front and he in the back, so we were in the same class for a few months and never met. We probably never would have talked to each other if match.com hadn’t worked its wonders 🙂 (Yes, we’re part of the “1 in 5” couples who meet on match.com and we’ve been happily together for over 2 years!)

Anyway, tangents seem to be the name of the game today, but spinning was glorious. It was hard, it was sweaty, it made every muscle in my legs burn in that hurtssogood way, and I walked out feeling energized and wondering how I’d ever let myself get away from this class!

I ate lunch while chatting with Jacob’s younger sister, who is home on spring break from U of O and will be heading to Delaware in a few short months as a Teach for America corps member. I delivered my happy news about Harvard, which is sounding more and more like where I’ll be next year (yippeeeeeee!), and we started making fun hypothetical plans about adventures out East that will likely never happen because we’ll be so busy working!

Lunch: cashew carrot ginger soup, kalamata olive bread with butter, and snap peas.

The baking urge hit me with a vengeance this afternoon, and I happened to have a jar of chocolate peanut butter that needed to be used up (I had dropped the jar last week and the top splintered, and I “was worried that it would dry out if I didn’t do something with it”…). The solution: chocolate chip-choc PB cookies.

Check. those. chocolate. chips. OUT. Amazing. The dough = died and gone to heaven.

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 cup chocolate peanut butter (like Dark Chocolate Dreams by Peanut Butter and Co; Target Brand; etc).
  • 1 cup sugar (or sugar substitute)
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter and peanut butter together in a large bowl. Add sugars, eggs, and vanilla and mix until incorporated. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Slowly add flour mixture to batter and mix to combine. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop by rounded spoonful onto baking sheets lined with parchment. Bake approximately 8-10 minutes, or until edges of cookies are rounded. Cool 5 minutes on baking sheet before transferring to cooling rack. Hold yourself back from eating entire batch. Eating while warm and gooey is highly recommended, however.

I had been feeling tight after Saturday’s run and cycling this morning, so I went to a late afternoon yoga class at the gym to stretch out. I may have also gone to get myself away from the cookies! It was excellent – I asked for poses that would help my IT band, and Pamela, the instructor, delivered.

Jacob’s older sister, Caitlin, had been cooking up a real treat when I arrived home: chicken and beef kabobs and stuffed peppers. She is currently living with Jacob’s dad and stepmom as well (it’s a party, of course…) and tries to cook dinner once a week for everyone, and usually comes up with some great stuff. Between her, me, Jacob, J’s stepmom and dad, his younger sister Meaghan, and Caitlin’s friend Kevin, we had a full house. I had two glasses of wine, a skewer and a half, a pepper (stuffed with rice, veggies, sausage, and topped with grated parm), and two of my cookies and some enormous strawbs for dessert.

I spent the rest of the evening having minor heart attacks about the price of housing in Cambridge, worrying about how the heck I’ll furnish an apt without a car (and $, for that matter), and distracting myself from worry with the return of Jon Stewart and Steven Colbert.

Here’s hoping the rest of the week is as good as today!

 

One Response

  1. Oh gosh, double chocolate peanut butter cookies?! You had me at the title alone!! Those looks and sound perfect! Awesome dinner plate, too. I’ve yet to try stuffed peppers but have always wanted to.

Leave a Reply

