OOWWWWWW

I woke up this morning as sore as I’ve ever been. It wasn’t just my IT band – my hips, knees, quads, everything was tight, stiff and painful. My day started off with round 1 of today’s many rounds of rolling and icing. I hope my liver can stand up to the amount of ibuprofen I’ll be downing over the next three (ahhh!!!) weeks.

In the spirit of muscle repair – hopefully not too little too late – I had a big bowl of greek yogurt for breakfast with Cascadian Farms cinnamon raisin granola and strawberries, and 1/2 an english muffin with PB and pear butter on the side.

Those strawberries have me yearning for summer. Call me food-obsessed, but I look forward to summer every year just for fresh berries, vibrant greens, and juicy citrus fruits. I have to hold myself back from not stealing a bright purplish blueberry out of a carton in the store 🙂

As I may have mentioned, Jacob’s dad and stepmom are selling their house, and so have quite the series of open houses lined up. They had one from 1-3 today, so as we had to vacate the house anyway, we used the time to get the last of J’s stuff from our storage unit, make a run to Goodwill, and take the rest to his mom’s to store. As annoying as the moving process is, it feels good once you complete a task, especially a major one like cleaning out our storage unit! Plus, it was nice to spend time with his mom, who isn’t home a lot since she’s a flight attendant. After Jacob leaves, I’ll be spending a few days with her before heading to Eugene for the marathon. Oy vey so soon. *Calm yourself, nerves, it’s not time to fire up yet.*

We didn’t return home until almost 4pm, so lunch was on the very late side. I put together a spinach salad with feta, kalamatas, zucchini, and tomatoes and topped it with spicy hummus instead of dressing. The rest of my monstrous apple from yesterday (and I still have two more!) was served on the side.

Even though I’m not working right now, it still felt like a Sunday. Sundays have such distinct, lazy feelings. You know what I mean? I’m not a churchgoer, so there is nothing that particularly marks Sunday as Sunday, but it feels different than all the other days for some reason. Ok, too many Sundays in a few sentences. Anyway, the fact that it was gloomy outside (surprise surprise) made me not want to do anything other than curl up on the couch by the fireplace with our newest disc of Mad Men – and so we did.

What a lovely way to spend an afternoon. And just like that, it jumped from 4pm to 7:15 and I was hungry again. When you get a craving, it just hits you – and boy, did I have a craving for pancakes. I whipped up a family-size batch of pancake batter from an old Better Homes and Gardens cookbook – a real standby – and got out mixins for personal pancake customization.

Sizzle, sizzle.

I have to say, these. were. delicious. Jacob and his dad were raving about what a treat these were. I always forget how easy it is to make pancakes… these might become a back pocket recipe for lazy nights in grad school. Pancakes are so simple, but you can make them so elegant and decadent just by adding a few ingredients you likely have on hand already, like walnuts, banana, chocolate chips, et cetera.

It took awhile for these babies to digest, but we stuck to our guns about going to the gym. I did a half hour of ellipticalling followed by 2 x 20 tricep dips and some single leg squats to strengthen my glute.

I began winding down for bed by taking a bath and snuggling with Jacob in front of the TV. So, Jacob kind of has a thing for airplanes. As in, if it were legal to marry and possible to procreate with an airplane, he would do it. We wound down for the night watching some program on the AirbusA380, apparently the biggest plane in the world – it seats 600 people! Personally, I wouldn’t want to be on an airplane with 599 other people. I don’t really care for flying as is. The whole experience of waking up before dawn, driving to the airport, standing in line after line after line, taking off jackets and shoes and taking laptops out of cases, and finally boarding a cramped, stuffy shoebox for several hours isn’t really my cup of tea. Jacob, on the other hand, gets giddy at the mention of an airplane. Another example of how opposites can complement each other – just seeing how excited he is when we’re on a plane together makes me forget how much I hate the whole ordeal.

I foamrolled my very, very sore legs for a good 15 minutes during the program and treated myself to an orange and cat cookies for dessert afterwards. That foam roller, man, hurts so good but it HURTS!!!

Leave a Reply

