Rise, Rinse, Refresh

I am slowly but surely achieving success in moving up my rise-n-shine time. Today I managed to get up at 9:30!

I was talking to Jacob’s dad and stepmom, and both said that they’re exhausted and have had trouble getting out of bed for the past few weeks too. His dad’s theory is that we’re all overstressed about Jacob leaving, plus they’re worried about the house selling. I’d say that between Jacob leaving (in just 4 days!!), me getting ready to move back up to Seattle, going to grad school in a few short months, and having marathon/injury worries, I’ve got enough stuff swirling around in my head to prevent me from really sleeping. Oy vey.

Nothing to get you raring like a good breakfast, though. On the menu today: a slice of Cinnamon Chip bread with PB, topped with a baked cinnamon apple and a dollop of vanilla yogurt.

This breakfast looks quite elegant, but it actually came together in less than 5 minutes.

1. Pop toast in toaster.

2. Chop small apple.

3. Place apple in microwavable bowl, sprinkle on cinnamon. Microwave for ~ 1 min or until apple is tender.

4. Spread PB on toast. Top with microwaved apple and a dollop of vanilla yogurt. Voila. Breakfast!

See? No reason that a delicious, nutritious, and pretty (most important, of course) breakfast can’t be fast.

Between spending a good deal of time with an ice pack and foam roller while watching cooking shows and discovering the amazingness of younghouselove, my early afternoon disappeared.

Lunch was a hodgepodge of leftovers from Screen Door last night. I was guessing that the fuji apple salad and jambalaya would be just as good, if not better, the next day, once the flavors had even more time to meld together. I was right; even the cornbread didn’t dry out when I zapped it in the microwave to warm it back up.

I’m going to have to recreate this fuji salad sometime soon with my own spin on it. It seems simple enough – greens, raisins, fuji apples, a light cheese (feta or a white cheddar?), walnuts, and a marinade of perhaps apple cider vinegar and greek yogurt? Hmm, food for thought…

I had every intention of making it to the gym, but took the afternoon sun break as a chance to give my car a MUCH needed wash. I got sprinkled on a few times (what weird weather we’re having lately!!!) but was able to get my little Hyundai Elantra clean and sparkling without too much trouble. My right arm and shoulder are going to be SORE though from scrubbing the sap spots off my roof!

Yoga was in my plans for later, anyway, so skipping the elliptical didn’t sound too bad. Jacob had plans to meet up with a former colleague for a drink at 7 and I found a Candlelight Power Yoga class at 7:30 that sounded like a perfect antidote to my late night worrying habit. The other half of my turkey and avocado panini from yesterday was dinner, though unpictured.

The yoga class was GREAT. It was a flow style class and moved pretty quickly, but I focused on matching movement to my breath and instead of changing poses based on the instructor’s words, I followed my own rhythm. I came out an hour later sweaty and refreshed… and STARVING.

Jacob is trying to squeeze in his last visit to all his favorite places, so we stopped by Swirl, a self serve froyo shop, for a late evening snack. We used to visit Swirl at least once a week last summer when we lived in Portland. It’s one of the better self serve places in PDX based on range of flavors and the toppings offered – and all for 45 cents per ounce. Plus you get great hipster watching (one of Jacob’s favorite pastimes) based on the Hawthorne location 🙂

I tried my best to be conservative, which is hard to do at anything self serve, but held myself to just one splurge topping. I split my cup between honey lavender tart and cookies and cream froyo, and topped my selections with blueberries/raspberries/coconut and oreo pieces respectively.

It hit the spot. Now I just have to find a comparable shop in Seattle…

Hoping to get a good night’s sleep now. Buona noche!

Leave a Reply

