You say goodbye, I say hello.

Today, I bid Portland, my home for the last 3 years, goodbye, and said hello (again) to Seattle.

Yes, yes, yes, I know, I know, I’ve been quite absent the last week. As you may recall, I left Beaverton last Tuesday to stay with my friend Tyler for the rest of the week before spending the weekend in Eugene for the marathon. For some reason, the wireless password at Tyler’s didn’t work on my computer and I wasn’t able to get on the internets while I was there. It was actually really nice to be away from my computer for a few days. I read the entirety – 550 pages! – of American Wife while I was there (it’s a fictionalized account of Laura Bush’s life, BTW); got in some high-quality work outs; and also got in some high quality veg out and girl time with Tyler.

The whole last weekend deserves it’s own post, so I’ll attend to that tomorrow (I say that today, as if saying so MIGHT just make it happen…) and we’ll just deal with today, today.

Given that it was my last morning in Portland, and that Kristina and Tyler had run the marathon on Sunday, Mike suggested meeting at Pine State Biscuits for breakfast before I hit the road. I cannot believe I didn’t go to this place earlier and am now kicking myself for all the missed opportunities. Pine State Biscuits is a literal hole in the wall on Belmont that specializes in – you guessed it – biscuits.

My friends had the option of being in food comas the rest of the day, so they ordered the Reggie (see above) while I went with a regular biscuit with jam and a side of baked apples. Even on a Monday morning at 10 am, the place was super crowded, so we took our food to go and ate at Kristina’s house just down the street.

It was nothing short of amazing. The biscuits were flaky and light, and I think they were made with a bit of cornmeal as well. And the baked apples? Yuuuuum. Buttery, cinnamony, plump – I’ll be experimenting with this in the future…

Once finished, the time came for goodbyes. It was really sad to say goodbye to my friends. I’ve only known Mike for about a year, but he is one of my favorite people that I’ve ever met. His humor and support got me through training for my first marathon, and made me want to come back to TNT for a second season. Kristina, Tyler and I have been friends for just half that time, but I love them just as much. T and I have been running together every Saturday for months, and I think enduring 20 miles together brings you much closer than just spending three hours together. I will be back in just 2 short months, though, to do the Firecracker Triple – three half marathons in the three days of Fourth of July weekend – with Tyler. And, she said she would come up to Seattle to run a few miles with me in the Seattle Rock n’ Roll Marathon on June 25th!

I hustled back to Beaverton to get the last of our stuff – my bike and Jacob’s computer – and began the three hour drive back to Seattle around 1pm. On my way home, I was thinking about all the firsts I had in Portland. Some were fantastic, some were awful at the time but are now funny memories, and some were of course just plain awful. Overall, though, I am so happy that I was able to spend the first (almost) three years of my “real” adult life in Portland. Here’s just a partial list of all the “first times” PDX and I had together:

  • paying rent
  • having a credit card… and then another
  • getting in a car accident… and then another
  • living with a boy 🙂
  • breaking a finger (my left pinky)
  • running a half marathon
  • running a marathon
  • trying (and loving) yoga
  • actually liking beer – and being able to tell you the difference between an IPA, a red, a trippel, and a brown
  • being in a relationship over a year
  • leaving the country with a boyfriend
  • lobbying legislators
  • having a grown up job…
  • … and losing a job
  • dyeing my hair
  • fundraising for a cause I care about
  • working in a restaurant
  • snowshoeing
  • getting over the stigma about online dating and doing it myself… and meeting the perfect boy (man? weird)
I have had a lot of firsts here, and I hope I can come back here someday for some more firsts – like buying a house, or having a kiddo, perhaps??
These thoughts made my drive fly by, but didn’t keep my hunger at bay for long. I grabbed a Naked green juice at Starbucks and had an apple not too long after.

It was pretty smooth sailing all the way home – and then the fun part of unloading all my crap began. Who knew that one person could acquire so much stuff??? Check out my room…

Only about 1/3 of that came in my car today and the rest was brought up when my parents came to PDX and also when J and I went to the San Juans a few weeks ago. This should be so much fun to go through in the next couple weeks… not.

My mom and I were on my own since my dad had an event at the university, so we popped down the street to the Third Place Pub for dinner. It’s a cozy little space in the basement of Third Place Books, a new and used bookstore in my neighborhood, and the pub menu is Greek food. I ordered the vegetarian meze plate, which allowed you to choose three antipasti and/or salads. I went with green olive tapenade; cous cous with almonds and apricots; and a traditional Greek salad.

I spent the remainder of the night trying to make some semblance of order in my room. I made a little headway before breaking for the Daily Show and Colbert Report. My exercise today was 25 minutes on the bike trainer in front of the TV and some light weights.

I’m pooped. Gotta get some good sleep before tackling the sh*tshow that is my room.

Leave a Reply

