Take me out to the ball game!

Tonight, I went to my first Mariners’ game in almost three years! There’s nothing that screams summer like sitting in the sun at a baseball game with a beer in your hand. Well, we didn’t exactly have the sun today – it is May in the Pacific Northwest, after all 🙂 Luckily, the M’s stadium has a retractable roof so we were spared the omnipresent Seattle spring drizzle. But I did have a beer in my hand and a couple of hours of QT with my dad, so all was well!

Let’s back up and talk about the rest of the day first, shall we?

Toast and Flying Squirrel Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed PB for breakfast:

I was super energetic during my workout this morning, which was a nice change! Perhaps the coffee bean crunchies in the PB helped?? Anyway, I completed a sweaty 50 minutes on the elliptical and then showered and changed at the gym before heading up north to meet my mom for lunch.

We went to Honey Bear Bakery in Shoreline, which is right near one of her schools (she’s a speech pathologist). We split the Sweet and Spicy Chicken Sandwich and each got a cup of tomato basil soup as well. The sandwich was sliced chicken, pepperjack cheese, pickled jalapenos, and jalapeno-mango salsa on whole wheat. Mmmm.

I ate a couple of chips and skipped the bread that accompanied the soup to keep room for a few bites of that cookie in back there. My mom has as raging a sweet tooth as I do so we’re a good pair.

I ran a bunch of errands and continued the fun task of organizing my room. I’m beginning to see progress – I can actually see a good portion of the carpet now! Who knew someone could have SO MUCH CRAP!! Goodwill is about to get very lucky… I’ve got five bags of stuff to give away so far!

All that organizing sparked my appetite, so I took a snack break and vegged out with Ellen for awhile. See the glow from the TV reflected off the glass coffee table? My yogurt, Kashi GoLean Crunch, and bananas hit the spot.

Before long, it was time to head to Safeco. My dad and a few of his guy friends share season tickets, so he goes to a decent number of games each year. They’ve actually had this arrangement pretty much as long as I’ve been alive and growing up, I probably went to two or three games a month? It was pretty sweet, especially since in the ’90s they were pretty good. Now? Ehh. But it’s still fun 🙂

We went down early to grab a bite at Elysian Fields, which is a brewery and restaurant about a 5 minute walk from Safeco.

Their beer is far better than their food, in my opinion, and the only thing that caught my eye was the chicken sandwich. I suppose this post would have been more aptly titled “Day of the Chicken Sandwich.” It was good, nothing special – just spicy chicken, cheese, bacon, lettuce and tomato on ciabatta. I was surprisingly hungry so I polished off the sandwich but left most of my fries. It was too dark to get a picture of my beer, but I wish I had – I ordered the Cerise Amour, which was a Belgian style beer brewed with sour cherries. It was actually almost magenta colored! It was delicious, light and crisp with definite tart cherry flavor, but not in an overpowering way.

The game ended up being great! The M’s beat the Rangers 3-1 and my dad and I had a fun time catching up. We don’t spend much time one on one when I’m home, nor do we talk much on the phone. He’s a great guy and as I get older I see how many similarities we have and common interests, so it’s really nice to hang out.

View from our seats:

I wasn’t tired when I got home for some reason, though it was 10pm, so I watched my most recent Netflix arrival, The Hurt Locker. I got on my trainer for about a half hour of it and snuck in some additional exercise too. Trainer = best home gym addition ever.

Leave a Reply

